This year’s edition of the Superbike World Championship has started in Aragon, Spain

19.04.2022 09:36

This year’s edition of the Superbike World Championship has started in Aragon, Spain


The opening round of the 2022 Superbike World Championship took place in Aragon, Spain. At the same time, Oliver König, a Czech Republic’s young talent, has completed his first real races within the top class, WorldSBK.


The 2022 MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship season-opener was staged on 8–10 April offering dramatic races entered by riders and their machines within the WorldSSP300, WorldSSP, and WorldSBK series. The next round at Assen is scheduled for the 22nd to 24thApril.


What is far more important to the Czech Superbike World Championship fans, however, is the fact that the sixth round of the championship will be held at AUTODROM MOST from 29–31 July 2022 with some Czech drivers led by Oliver König being expected on the grid. These three days will offer a wide range of races: Tickets for this extraordinary event are already sold on-line through


The first round of the 35th season of the Superbike World Championship started with practice sessions in Aragon on Friday 8th April. The top class, WorldSBK, saw Jonathan Rea on a Kawasaki as the fastest rider. Orelac Racing VerdNatura team’s Czech rider Oliver König on a Kawasaki set the twenty-second fastest time. The fastest WorldSSP rider was Dominique Aegerter while Ondřej Vostatek was twenty-fourth. Marc Garcia set the best time in the lowest class, WorldSSP300, with Petr Svoboda being classified twenty-fifth.


The Superpole race and the initial races were on the programme on Saturday 9th April. Jonathan Rea won the WorldSBK category whereas Oliver König, who is getting used to a completely different equipment after a step-up from WorldSSP300, took the flag in twenty-second position. Lorenzo Baldassarri emerged victorious in the WorldSSP race while Ondřej Vostatek finished twenty-fourth. The WorldSSP300 race was won by Marc Garcia with Petr Svoboda coming nineteenth.


Álvaro Bautista triumphed on his Ducati in the WorldSBK second race on Sunday 10th April with Oliver König taking twenty-second place again. Dominique Aegerter was the winner of the WorldSSP Race Two where Ondřej Vostatek finished twenty-second. The second WorldSSP300 race winner was Álvaro Díaz while Petr Svoboda scored his first points of the season for an eleventh place.


Other articles

Main partners


Media partners